Geeks2U Promise
We guarantee you'll love our fast, friendly service - or we'll refund your money.  

0330 808 5201
Extended hours, 7 days a week
Home  /  geekspeak  /  Have you checked your Facebook privacy settings recently?

Have you checked your Facebook privacy settings recently?

Facebook is a service beloved by many, because it makes it so very easy to keep in touch with friends, family, acquaintances and more in an environment that’s generally easy to use and that can be quite fun. It’s one of the world’s busiest web sites, and one of the tech world’s most valuable companies.

It’s also been under increasing scrutiny of how it manages the privacy of its millions of users, and with some alarming results. After the mess of the recent Cambridge Analytica scandal, where private details of (mostly) US-based Facebook users were sold for profit, Facebook has been trying its level best to appear more vigilant around privacy issues.

That hasn’t stopped it having privacy issues, however. Most recently, the company admitted that a software bug accidentally led to users who had been blocked from viewing a specific user’s content may have been accidentally reinstated, as though they were still “friends”.

Facebook’s block power is quite a vital one for many people, whether it’s for smaller-scale issues like a simple falling out with friends, up to more serious issues around personal safety and abuse. There’s a chilling quantity of evidence that suggests that in the digital era, tools like Facebook are often used to track the movements of individuals and threaten their safety in ways that Facebook itself says are against its terms of usage. Still, it happens, and that’s where a block system can have real power… when it works.

The issue here is that it didn’t, and for a significant quantity of users.

Quite a lot of users, as it happens, with the company admitting that over 800,000 users may have had their account temporarily “unblocked” due to the error. Users who were unblocked couldn’t see content posted and marked for friends only, but anything you posted as public could be seen by them. Normally, of course, anyone you blocked wouldn’t be able to see anything at all, and that’s quite an important privacy principle for many of Facebook’s users.

Facebook says that it’s rectified the error, and that around 83% of those affected only had a single blocked person accidentally reinstated. It further states that anyone who was temporarily unblocked has now been blocked, but as always, if you do have a Facebook block list, it’s wise to periodically check that it’s still active and in place.

Even if you’ve never used Facebook’s block feature before, it’s also a timely reminder that it’s well worth your time to review your privacy and security settings on Facebook from time to time.

As the platform has evolved, Facebook has changed how it manages security and privacy. This can mean that even though you think your account is configured exactly as private (or open) as you might want it to be, over time shifting controls may have left you more open than you might be comfortable with.

The same is true of your friends list, too. Facebook’s algorithms tend to force showing you updates from friends that you’re more likely to interact with. From Facebook’s side that makes sense, because it wants you to use the service more and more, but what that can do is marginalise other friends if you’ve got a reasonably wide list, because it can’t show you everything at once.

A quick audit of your friends list may reveal news you didn’t know, but it can also serve to remind you exactly who still has access to your own updates. Your reasons for dropping someone as a friend, or indeed blocking them can be your own, but if you’ve been on Facebook for a while, you might have friends that you’d totally forgotten about still reading your updates, even if you don’t want them to.

Share

Recent News

2018 has been a year marked by some pretty big and significant privacy stories in technology. In one sense, this has been a healthy matter, because it’s made a lot more people aware of what it is they’re sharing online, where their data is tracked and what it’s used for. There’s plenty of data about… More 

The history of web browsers is fascinating if you’re of a geeky bent, from the early days of NSCA Mosaic through to the explosive growth of Netscape and its eventual ousting by Microsoft’s Internet Explorer (IE) browser. If you’re not that geeky, you’re probably more used to clicking on an icon to access the web,… More 

Just recently, 50,000 printer owners got an unexpected result out of their devices. Not so much a paper jam or out of ink message — we’ve all been there — but instead a message imploring users to subscribe to Internet “celebrity” PewDiePie’s Youtube channel and unsubscribe from an Indian-produced channel that in recent months has… More 

We live in a world of portable technology, which gives us access to information at the tap of a keyboard or the touch of a finger. Which is great when you need GPS directions in an unfamiliar city, need to check your work email for a vital document or simply want to confirm who the… More